Why are all children obsessed with George Ezra’s ‘Shotgun’?

Penny Brazier
3 min readJul 9, 2019

--

This song has special powers that I need to understand.

It has child-bewitching properties. Like the pied piper of the hit parade, ‘Shotgun’ weaves its way into the minds of your children and gets them to request it, relentlessly, until you want to gouge your ears out with a shitty spoon.

“I could get used to this!” whoops George.

Well, settle in pal because it is now an entire calendar year since this earworm bastard was in the charts, and it is still on a constant loop in my sons’ heads. I am pretty sure the eldest only learned how to spell so he could type the damn thing into the Youtube search bar.

“Time flies by in the yellow and green/Stick around and you’ll see what I mean.”

Nope, still makes absolutely no sense. Is he talking about smoking weed? Driving a John Deere tractor? Working for BP?

Wouldn’t matter if he was singing about punching his brother and drawing on the sofa in permanent marker because our kids haven’t got a clue what he’s saying. The only word they’ve managed to identify is ‘shotgun’, the rest is a mass of slurry vowels delivered in a cod version of Ezra’s bassy five-pints-in drawl.

They’ve decided the chorus is about their friend Harvey — “Harvey, Harvey Shotgun” — and, despite listening to the song constantly for the last 365 days, are no closer to grasping any of the actual lyrics. Proving that kids never listen to a bloody word you say, even if you’re George Ezra.

What is it with this tune? Every time I ask other parents what music their kids listen to, this is the first thing they say. The very first thing. With their glassy, wearied eyes, as they suck down the last of their wine and start to weep, softly.

Is it the stripped back simplicity? The laid-back summer vibes? Ezra’s dulcet tones? The fact that the video is just his massive weird singing face?

I know if I can get to the bottom of this, I will have unlocked the secret of parenting.

No longer will my children defy me at mealtimes, claiming bow-shaped pasta is an affront to humanity. They will relish all green vegetables, homework will be finished without a single grumble, toys looked after and put away properly. I will simply unleash the power of Ezra, their eyes will shine like the Children of the Corn and they will do my bidding.

I could get used to that.

‘Shotgun’ was one of the first songs Ezra wrote for his second album ‘Staying at Tamara’s’. The album was named after his Air BnB host. He says they’re still in touch.

#write52 is a writing project by Ed Callow, who basically bullies us into creating original content every week. Sign up for the newsletter here. It’s good. Really good.

I’m Penny, a freelance writer and content strategist. If you’re interested reading more of my ranting, the best place to follow me is on Instagram.

--

--